RHCP detail upcoming 7" single series

News / June 18, 2012

Last month, we reported that Red Hot Chili Peppers were hinting at a 7″ vinyl series, which could come out this year. Details on the series have now been officially released. You can see a post from the band’s Facebook, below.

“Red Hot Chili Peppers will be releasing 18 previously unreleased sides from the I’m With You sessions over the next six months. Each of the songs will be available worldwide both digitally and on 7 inch vinyl.

The first pair of sides – “Strange Man” on the A-side and “Long Progression” on the B-side – will be released on August 14, 2012. The second pair of sides – “Magpies” and “Victorian Machinery” – will be released on September 11, 2012. The third pair of sides – “Never Is A Long Time” and “Love Of Your Life” – will be released on October 2, 2012. The fourth pair of sides (titles TBD) will be released November 6, 2012. The fifth pair of sides (titles TBD) will be released December 4, 2012 and the sixth pair of sides (titles TBD) will be released December 18, 2012. The final two releases will be released in early 2013.

Each of the nine seven-inches will feature cover artwork by Kelsey Brookes, and when combined together, form one larger piece of artwork. Brookes’ well-documented background in microbiology, surf culture and folk art combine in explosive prisms of raucous color, bold imagery and timeless motifs. His work has appeared in countless group shows, art fairs, and magazines such as GQ, Modern Painters, Juxtapoz, Beautiful Decay and Dazed and Confused.”

We’ll let you guys know when pre-orders pop up for these records.


Christopher Lantinen
Chris Lantinen is the owner and editor-in-chief of Modern Vinyl. Along with his modest collection of sad sounding records, he collects his share of soundtracks and previously adored indie up-and-comers. Chris is currently a professor of journalism and public relations at Edinboro University in the Erie, Pennsylvania area.

You might also like