Release Day: August 28th

Releases / August 26, 2012

Release Day is a feature which runs every week, detailing the albums that are now in stores. Links are provided and be sure to support your local record store when possible. If we missed any important releases, be sure to let us know in the comments. Full disclosure: The links through Amazon give a small percentage of their sales to Modern Vinyl. The money will go toward improving our site.

Circa Survive — Violent Waves


2xLP set pressed on 180-gram vinyl, housed in gatefold packaging. The “All Music Package” is still available, which features the record, CD, custom designed bag, lithograph and T-shirt.

Minus The Bear — Infinity Overhead

Dangerbird Records

Pressed on 180-gram black vinyl (limited to 1,000, official webstore), 180-gram clear vinyl (webstore and retail) and on 180-gram gold vinyl (limited to 1,000, InSound).

Dan Deacon — America

Domino USA

Pressed on translucent vinyl (limited to 500, sold out), on standard black vinyl and on cassette (limited to 500). Both versions include download code. Also up for sale at Amazon.

The Old Ceremony — Fairytales and Other Forms of Suicide

Yep Roc Records

Pressed on standard black vinyl. Available in several different bundle packages.

Michael Kiwanuka — Home Again

Interscope Records

U.S. pressing of debut album on standard black vinyl.

Franz Nicolay — Do The Struggle

Total Treble

Pressed on white vinyl. Includes digital download with purchase.

Wild Nothing — Nocturne

Captured Tracks

Also available in limited edition variation, pressed on light blue vinyl, packaged in a letterpress sleeve. Also includes poster.

Swans — The Seer

Young God Records

3xLP box set is signed by M. Gira if pre-ordering through Young God. Also available at Amazon.

Dave Matthews Band — Mercy/Gaucho

RCA Records

7″ single, which is a precursor to the upcoming full length, “Away From The World.”

Goldrush — Making Moves

Mad Dragon Records/Boombox Generation

Fourth release in the Making Moves 7″ series.

Poor Moon — Poor Moon

Sub Pop Records

Pre-orders through Sub Pop also receive limited 7″ record. Also available through Amazon.

Goodtime Boys — Every Landscape

Bridge Nine Records

Pressed on opaque dark green vinyl and on clear with green vinyl.

Divine Fits — A Thing Called Divine Fits

Merge Records

Pressed on 130-gram black vinyl and includes digital download code. Also available through Amazon.

Morning Glory — Poets Were My Heroes

Fat Wreck Chords

2xLP set pressed on black vinyl. Includes digital download. Also available through Amazon.

Murder Construct — Results

Relapse Records

Pressed on black vinyl (limited to 500) and on clear vinyl (limited to 100). Also available at Amazon.

Obey The Brave — Young Blood

Epitaph Records

Pressed on yellow vinyl (limited to 400) and on black vinyl. Also available at Amazon.

One Man Army — She’s An Alarm!

Adeline Records

Pressed on neon green vinyl (limited to 700) and on neon pink vinyl (limited to 300, sold out).

Easy Star All-Stars – Easy Star’s Thrillah

Easy Star Records

2xLP set pressed on black vinyl and packaged in a double gatefold jacket. Vinyl version includes two bonus tracks.

School Jerks — Self Titled

Grave Mistake Records

Debut LP pressed on black vinyl and on green slime vinyl.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Christopher Lantinen
Chris Lantinen is the owner and editor-in-chief of Modern Vinyl. Along with his modest collection of sad sounding records, he collects his share of soundtracks and previously adored indie up-and-comers. Chris is currently a professor of journalism and public relations at Edinboro University in the Erie, Pennsylvania area.

You might also like