Release Day: September 11th

Releases / September 10, 2012

Release Day is a feature which runs every week, detailing the albums that are now in stores. Links are provided and be sure to support your local record store when possible. If we missed any important releases, be sure to let us know in the comments. Full disclosure: The links through Amazon give a small percentage of their sales to Modern Vinyl. The money will go toward improving our site.

The Avett Brothers — The Carpenter

Universal Republic

2xLP gatefold package pressed on 180-gram black vinyl and available either individually or in a box-set from band’s website. A 7″ single (limited to 1,000) was initially included with the box-set option, but has since sold out. Full album also sold through Amazon.

Amanda Palmer — Theatre Is Evil

Alliance Ent. Special

Initially available through Kickstarter. The Kickstarter vinyl package included two, 180-gram records, packaged in a gatefold jacket. That package was described as “backer-only,” though, so it’s unclear if Amazon is offering the same vinyl weight and jacket.

NOFX — Self Entitled

Fat Wreck Chords

Colored vinyl from Fat Wreck has sold out, but standard package is still available. Black vinyl also available through Amazon.

Joan Of Arc — Don’t Mind Control

Polyvinyl Record Company

Reissue pressed on yellow vinyl (limited to 300). Includes photo collage.

Bob Dylan — Tempest


2xLP, 180-gram set available from Dylan’s official site either individually or in bundle packages. Also available through Amazon.

Quicksand — Slip

Shop Radio Cast

Pressed on 180-gram black vinyl and sold through Dine Alone Records. Shop Radio Cast sold out of both the 180-gram red/black swirl vinyl (limited to 500) and 180-gram green/yellow swirl vinyl (limited to 500). Second pressing is on 180-gram solid red vinyl (quantity unknown) and will ship out in late September.

David Byrne & St. Vincent — Love This Giant

4AD Records

Pressed on standard black vinyl and packaged in a gatefold jacket. Also available through band’s website.

Adventures — Self Titled

No Sleep Records

7″ EP pressed on pale yellow vinyl (limited to 500); on clear vinyl (limited to 300); and on white vinyl (limited to 200, only in subscription series).

The Perks of Being a Wallflower — Official Soundtrack

Atlantic Records

Pressed on standard black vinyl.

State Champs — Overslept

Pure Noise Records

7″ EP pressed on coke bottle green vinyl (limited to 500); white vinyl (limited to 300); and on half clear/half cyan blue vinyl (limited to 200).


Dave Matthews Band — Away From The World


2xLP set available through band’s webstore on 180-gram clear vinyl. Amazon pressing information not revealed.

The Helio Sequence — Negotiations

Sub Pop Records

Sub Pop’s “Loser Edition” of 2xLP set is pressed on clear with gold flecks vinyl. By pre-ordering with Sub Pop, you’ll also receive a companion CD. Standard edition available at Amazon.

Solos — Beast of Both Worlds

Joyful Noise

Pressed on 180-gram black vinyl.

The Pauses/Great Deceivers — Split 12″

New Granada Records

Split is limited to 500 copies and each pre-order comes with a chance to win a test pressing.

Gallows — Self Titled

Bridge Nine Records

Pressed on half white/half black vinyl and on black with white haze vinyl.

Calexico — Algiers

Anti Records

Available individually or in bundle packages. The deluxe set has the album pressed on 180-gram black vinyl, with another live 180-gram record included. Live record only available in this set. Also on sale at Amazon.

S.P.O.C.K. — Another Piece of The Action: The Best of The SubSpace Years


2xLP pressed on transparent vinyl and limited to 500 copies. Newly mastered for the format.

John Nolan — The Acoustic Sessions

Collective Confusion Records

Pressed on half green/half peach vinyl (limited to 100); on peach vinyl (limited to 150); and on green vinyl (limited to 250).

Pet Shop Boys — Elysium


2xLP set pressed on black vinyl and housed in a gatefold jacket.

The Raveonettes — Observator

Vice Records

Pressed on standard black vinyl.

The XX — Coexist

Young Turks

Also available in deluxe vinyl package. Deluxe edition features 180-gram vinyl and die-cut gatefold jacket.

Fierce Creatures —  Catacomb Party

Paper Garden Records

Pressed on black vinyl and limited to 400 copies.

Helvetia — Nothing In Rambling

Joyful Noise

Pressed on red vinyl and on black vinyl. Also available on red cassette tape.

Tags: , , , , ,

Christopher Lantinen
Chris Lantinen is the owner and editor-in-chief of Modern Vinyl. Along with his modest collection of sad sounding records, he collects his share of soundtracks and previously adored indie up-and-comers. Chris is currently a professor of journalism and public relations at Edinboro University in the Erie, Pennsylvania area.

You might also like