Warner Brothers announces RSD releases

Record Store Day 2013 / March 1, 2013

Warner Brothers has announced its Record Store Day 2013 releases, featuring records from The Black Keys, Built To Spill, Iron & Wine and Linkin Park, among others. You can see all the releases below, along with their details.

  • Avenged Sevenfold — Carry On (12″ picture disc, limited to 5,000)
    A-side is “Carry On,” a song from Call of Duty: Black Ops II, while the B-side is the instrumental version of the same track. Disc includes video game and band artwork.
  • Avenged Sevenfold — Live in the LBC & Diamonds in the Rough (12″ vinyl and DVD, limited to 3,500)
    On the five year anniversary of their Live in the LBC performance, the show has been pressed on vinyl for the first time and housed in a gatefold jacket.
  • Biffy Clyro — Black Chandelier (7″ EP, limited to 2,000)
    7″ pressed on black and clear splattered vinyl, featuring live performance of title track and an unreleased B-side. 
  • The Black Keys (pictured)/The Stooges — No Fun (split 7″ on colored vinyl, limited to 7,500)
    This year’s entry in the Side By Side series, featuring both bands take on “No Fun.” Pressed on orange and red sunburst vinyl.
  • Bombino — Azamane Tiliade/Si Chilan (10″ single, limited to 3,000)
    Features album track (from upcoming full length) and non-album B-side.
  • Built To Spill — Live (2xLP and CD, limited to 2,500)
    Collection of tracks recorded during the band’s Keep It Like A Secret 1999 tour. Originally released in 2000.
  • Cream — Live at the Royal Albert Hall (3xLP box set, limited to 1,500)
    Set featuring 2005 performances, previously pressed on vinyl in that same year. Pressed on cream colored vinyl.
  • Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr. — Patterns (12″ EP, limited to 3,000 copies
    Record Store Day exclusive EP. More details forthcoming.
  • Deftones — Live: Volume 1 – Selections from Adrenaline (12″ EP)
    Songs from the Adrenaline era, handpicked by the band and recorded live at Buffalo’s Memorial Auditorium in 1996. First release in seven planned 12″s. The last release is scheduled to be a Black Friday release.
  • Eli “Paperboy” Reed — WooHoo/Call Your Boyfriend (7″ EP, limited to 3,000)
    Features new song and re-imagining of Robyn’s “Call Your Girlfriend.”
  • The Flaming Lips — Zaireeka (4xLP colored, limited to 7,500)
    Four discs, designed to be played on cue at once. Housed in unique art and packaging.
  • Foals — Holy Fire (1xLP, 1×7″ on colored vinyl, limited to 5,000)
    Domestic release of the album, packaged along with a two-song 7″ pressed on gold vinyl. 7″ features exclusive track, “Bluebird,” and remix of “My Number.”
  • Gary Clark Jr. — HWUL Raw Cuts Vol. 2 (12″ EP on colored vinyl, limited to 1,000)
    Features live performance on “When My Train Comes In,” as well as studio version of same song.
  • Iron & Wine — Next To Paradise/Dirty Ocean (7″ single, limited to 3,300)
    Includes two tracks, exclusive only to this release.
  • Linkin Park — Hybrid Theory (1xLP, 10″ EP, poster and sticker, limited to 3,000)
    Bonus 10″ EP which contains tracks “One Step Closer” and “My December.” LP reissued on vinyl for the first time in a decade.
  • Into The Wild — Live At EastWest Studios (12″ EP, limited to 2,000)
    First time vinyl pressing of performance, featuring previously unavailable bonus track, “It’s Over.”
  • Punch Brothers — Ahoy! (10″ EP)
    EP pressed on vinyl for the first time. Includes songs from Josh Ritter, Gillian Welch and David Rawlings, Punch Brothers and Mclusky.
  • Surfer Blood — Demon Dance (7″ EP, colored vinyl, limited to 5,000)
    An early look at Surfer Blood’s new album, Pythons. Pressed on tri-colored, navy, blue and white vinyl.
  • Tegan and Sara — Closer Remixed (12″ EP, limited to 5,000)
    Features 10 remixes of hit single, “Closer.” Remixes done by the likes of Morgan Page, The Knocks, Yeasayer and Chris Walla.

The obvious highlights come with the live selections, especially the ones from Deftones and Built To Spill. I feel like people will also be excited for the Linkin Park reissue, the domestic release for Foals and The Black Keys split 7″. Nothing is overwhelmingly impressive in my personal opinion, but we all know some more exciting announcements are in the pipeline.

Tags: ,

Christopher Lantinen
Chris Lantinen is the owner and editor-in-chief of Modern Vinyl. Along with his modest collection of sad sounding records, he collects his share of soundtracks and previously adored indie up-and-comers. Chris is currently a professor of journalism and public relations at Edinboro University in the Erie, Pennsylvania area.

You might also like