‘Peanuts Greatest Hits’ coming to vinyl

News / June 17, 2015

Fantasy Records is releasing the Peanuts Greatest Hits, which features a “12-song survey of some of the most popular music from the Guaraldi Peanuts soundtracks.” A CD version will be released in late July, but Fantasy has confirmed that a vinyl release will come in September of this year.

Most selections feature Guaraldi backed by one of his longtime trios: Monty Budwig, bass; and Colin Bailey, drums; or, in later years, Fred Marshall, bass; and Jerry Granelli, drums. You’ll also hear some notable additions to the core trio format: “Little Birdie” features Guaraldi’s own vocals, with the addition of horns as well. Two versions of “Christmas Time Is Here” appear: one by the trio, the other adding the young members of the St. Paul’s Church Choir from nearby San Rafael, California.

You can see the tracklisting below. Fantasy did a great job with the recent Boy Named Charlie Brown anniversary edition so keep an eye on this.

1.   Linus and Lucy
2.   Charlie Brown Theme
3.   Baseball Theme
4.   Oh, Good Grief
5.   Happiness Theme
6.   Little Birdie
7.   Great Pumpkin Waltz
8.   Thanksgiving Theme
9.   Christmas Is Coming
10.  Christmas Time Is Here (Instrumental)
11.  Skating
12.  Christmas Time Is Here (Vocal)

Tags: ,

Christopher Lantinen
Chris Lantinen is the owner and editor-in-chief of Modern Vinyl. Along with his modest collection of sad sounding records, he collects his share of soundtracks and previously adored indie up-and-comers. Chris is currently a professor of journalism and public relations at Edinboro University in the Erie, Pennsylvania area.

You might also like