‘Diary of a Teenage Girl’ soundtrack coming to vinyl

News / Preorders / June 29, 2015

The soundtrack to Diary of a Teenage Girl, by Nate Heller, is being released on vinyl through Rhino Records. There’s no pressing information currently given, but they do list it as “limited.”

Based on the acclaimed graphic novel by Phoebe Gloeckner,The Diary of a Teenage Girl recounts the coming-of-age adventures of Minnie Goetze, a San Francisco teenager growing up in the counterculture haze of the 1970s.Lonely and artistic, Minnie chronicles her trials through expressive drawings and painfully honest missives confided to a tape recorder. One fateful evening alone with her mother’s boyfriend, Minnie is confronted with her burgeoning sexuality for the first time, and suddenly this precocious teen is in way over her head.

This is also Heller’s first credit. The vinyl is coming out on August 7th.

Update 7/3/15: The soundtrack is actually a pretty cool compilation, which you can see the tracklisting for below. There’s still some Heller work on there.

1. Dreamsong (feat. Amber Coffman) – By Nate Heller
2. Looking For The Magic – By Dwight Twilley Band
3. Dreamboat Annie – By Heart
4. Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams – By Nico
5. Next Plane To London – By The Rose Garden
6. Precious Star – By T. Rex
7. Crying Laughing Loving Lying (2006 Remastered Version) – By Labi Siffre
8. If It’s Good To You (It’s Good For You) – By Barbara & The Browns
9. Roll Away The Stone – By MOTT THE HOOPLE
10. Down On The Street – By The Stooges
11. A Fool In Love – By Frankie Miller
12. See No Evil – By Television
13. Run To The Mountain – By Nate Heller


Christopher Lantinen
Chris Lantinen is the owner and editor-in-chief of Modern Vinyl. Along with his modest collection of sad sounding records, he collects his share of soundtracks and previously adored indie up-and-comers. Chris is currently a professor of journalism and public relations at Edinboro University in the Erie, Pennsylvania area.

You might also like