J Dilla ‘The Shining’ box-set being released

News / Preorders / June 4, 2016

A 10-year anniversary celebration of J Dilla’s The Shining will include a 10×7″ box-set. The album was posthumously released in 2006 and this version includes instrumentals on the B-sides. The instrumentals have been released previously.

The set is being released on August 26th.

Disc: 1
1. Geek Down (Feat. Busta Rhymes)
2. Love Jones
3. Geek Down (Feat. Busta Rhymes) [Instrumental]

Disc: 2
1. E=Mc2 (Feat. Common)
2. E=Mc2 (Feat. Common) [Instrumental]

Disc: 3
1. Love (Feat. Pharoahe Monch)
2. Love (Feat. Pharoahe Monch) [Instrumental]

Disc: 4
1. Baby (Feat. Madlib & Guilty Simpson)
2. Baby (Feat. Madlib & Guilty Simpson) [Instrumental]

Disc: 5
1. So Far to Go (Feat. Common & D’angelo) [7″ Edit] 2. So Far to Go (Feat. Common & D’angelo) [7″ Edit Instrumental]

Disc: 6
1. Jungle Love (Feat. Med & Guilty Simpson)
2. Jungle Love (Feat. Med & Guilty Simpson) [Instrumental]

Disc: 7
1. Over the Breaks
2. Body Movin’ (Feat. J. Rocc & Karriem Riggins)

Disc: 8
1. Dime Piece (Feat. Dwele)
2. Dime Piece (Feat. Dwele) [Instrumental]

Disc: 9
1. Love Movin’ (Feat. Black Thought)
2. Love Movin’ (Feat. Black Thought) [Instrumental]

Disc: 10
1. Won’t Do
2. Won’t Do [Instrumental]


Christopher Lantinen
Chris Lantinen is the owner and editor-in-chief of Modern Vinyl. Along with his modest collection of sad sounding records, he collects his share of soundtracks and previously adored indie up-and-comers. Chris is currently a professor of journalism and public relations at Edinboro University in the Erie, Pennsylvania area.

You might also like