Inspiration for ‘Neon Demon’ collected on new vinyl release

News / Preorders / January 6, 2017

This is cool. So Nicolas Winding Refn — who has repeatedly demonstrated his love and admiration for the vinyl format — has put together a new compilation, songs which inspired him in the creation of latest film Neon Demon. You can see the tracklisting below, but it includes songs from former collaborators like Electric Youth (Drive), Cliff Martinez (Drive, Only God Forgives, Neon Demon composer) and Julian Winding (Only God Forgives).

I’ve gone on record multiple times in saying I do not like this movie. But I like this idea and hope more directors catch on. The Wicked Die Young will be released on April 14. It’s set to be a 2xLP set on 180-gram colored vinyl, through Milan Records.

1    Good Blood – By Electric Youth
2    Won’t Somebody Dance With Me – By Lynsey de Paul
3    Cheree (1998 Remastered Version) – By Suicide
4    Homicide – By 999
5    Pirate Love – By Johnny Thunders & The Heartbreakers
6    (Theme From) Valley of the Dolls – By Dionne Warwick
7    Bubble Sex – By Tommy Seebach
8    Follow Me – By Amanda Lear

Side B

1    Knights In White Satin – By Giorgio Moroder
2    The No. 1 Song In Heaven – By Sparks
3    Becoming – By Cliff Martinez
4    Dressed to Kill (Pulsion) (1980): The Shower (Theme from Dressed to Kill) – By Pino Donaggio
5    End Of A Myth – By Claudio Gizzi
6    When You Want To Hurt Someone – By Julian Winding

Tags: ,

Christopher Lantinen
Chris Lantinen is the owner and editor-in-chief of Modern Vinyl. Along with his modest collection of sad sounding records, he collects his share of soundtracks and previously adored indie up-and-comers. Chris is currently a professor of journalism and public relations at Edinboro University in the Erie, Pennsylvania area.

You might also like