RSD 2017: Two Bowie releases added to list

News / Record Store Day 2017 / March 9, 2017

David Bowie will be honored on Record Store Day 2017, with a couple different releases. First up, you have Cracked Actor (Live In Los Angeles 1974), which is described below:

The first official release of this Philly Dogs Tour show from September 1974, some of which was featured in Alan Yentob’s BBC documentary, Cracked Actor. The full concert is documented on this triple vinyl five-sided album. The sixth side features an etching of the Diamond Dogs era Bowie logo.

All of the multi-track tapes were finally reunited in one place in November of last year and mixed officially for the first time by long time Bowie collaborator Tony Visconti. The packaging features newly commissioned artwork with rare and unseen photographs from the 1974 Universal Amphitheatre show by Terry O’Neill and Jamie Andrews in a gatefold sleeve. The album differs greatly from Bowie’s David Live album (also from 1974), as it features a new band line up including soul legend Luther Vandross on vocals.

And the second is called BOWPROMO, which features “alternate mixes of some of the songs that would eventually be released on the Hunky Dory album.” The B-side of the original release featured five tracks from Dana Gillespie, but this will be one-sided, with just Bowie’s 7 songs,

1. Oh! You Pretty Things (3.18)
2. Eight Line Poem (2.59)
3. Kooks (3.01)
4. It Ain’t Easy (3.04)
5. Queen Bitch (3.21)
6. Quicksand (5.09)
7. Bombers / Andy Warhol Intro (3.39)

Record Store Day will be held on April 22.

Tags: ,

Christopher Lantinen
Chris Lantinen is the owner and editor-in-chief of Modern Vinyl. Along with his modest collection of sad sounding records, he collects his share of soundtracks and previously adored indie up-and-comers. Chris is currently a professor of journalism and public relations at Edinboro University in the Erie, Pennsylvania area.

You might also like