New album from Electric Youth next in ‘NWR Presents’ series

News / Preorders / August 9, 2017

Electric Youth’s new album, Breathing, is now up for pre-order at Milan Records. The album was originally conceived as a soundtrack (the film is now lost), becoming a separate entity eventually. It has another cinematic connection, as it’s the “latest album in Milan’s eagerly anticipated ‘Nicolas Winding Refn Presents’ series – a line of semi-annual vinyl releases assembled under the guide of director Nicolas Winding Refn (Drive, The Neon Demon).” Electric Youth of course gained prominence from being on the Drive soundtrack with “A Real Hero.”

The LP is on 180-gram red vinyl, housed in a gatefold jacket with liner notes by the band and Anthony Scott Burns, who directed that film this music was supposed to accompany. As they state on Vice:

“That film Anthony set out to create, the film we set out to score, is lost in time now,” they wrote. “There is another film in its place, using some of its footage but with a different spirit… This is the soundtrack from the lost film, an audio relic of the special film that once was.”

The album is being released on September 22nd.

Tags: , ,

Christopher Lantinen
Chris Lantinen is the owner and editor-in-chief of Modern Vinyl. Along with his modest collection of sad sounding records, he collects his share of soundtracks and previously adored indie up-and-comers. Chris is currently a professor of journalism and public relations at Edinboro University in the Erie, Pennsylvania area.

You might also like