Sonny Rollins’ ‘Way Out West’ gets 60th anniversary release

News / Preorders / December 19, 2017

In honor of its 60th birthday, the Sonny Rollins record, Way Out West, is getting reissued through Craft Recordings. The original album is accompanied by a second LP of “bonus material featuring rare and previously unreleased tracks from the legendary session,” all on heavyweight vinyl.

Neil Tesser contributed liner notes, which features a recent interview with Rollins. William Claxton photography is also included. It’s all housed in a box set.

The set is being released on Feb. 16.

Disc One – Original Way Out West Album
Side A
A1. I’m an Old Cowhand
A2. Solitude
A3. Come, Gone
Side B
B1. Wagon Wheels
B2. There Is No Greater Love
B3. Way Out West
Disc Two – Bonus Tracks from the Way Out West Recording Session
Side A
A1. Monologue: You Gotta Dig the Lyrics (previously unreleased)
A2. I’m An Old Cowhand (alternate version)
A3. Dialogue: Titling “Come, Gone” (previously unreleased)
A4. Come Gone (alternate version)
Side B
B1. There Is No Greater Love (alternate version, previously unreleased)
B2. Way Out West (take 1, previously unreleased)
B3. Way Out West (alternate version)

Tags: , ,

Christopher Lantinen
Chris Lantinen is the owner and editor-in-chief of Modern Vinyl. Along with his modest collection of sad sounding records, he collects his share of soundtracks and previously adored indie up-and-comers. Chris is currently a professor of journalism and public relations at Edinboro University in the Erie, Pennsylvania area.

You might also like