Alan Braufman’s free jazz classic “Valley of Search” up for preorder

News / Preorders / June 5, 2018

43 years after its initial release, saxophonist Alan Braufman’s Valley of Search is getting it’s first ever reissue. The album was recorded in a NYC apartment building, with no overdubs or retakes, and is a thrilling representation of the avante garde jazz scene in the mid ’70s. The reissue for Valley of Search will be released on June 29 and is being lovingly handled by Braufman’s nephew, so expect the packaging and liner notes to definitely be on point. Details are below:

Alan Braufman — Valley of Search

In late 1974, India Navigation label owner Bob Cummins set up microphones in a New York City building’s storefront, documenting two short sets by the band with no alternate takes or additional cuts. These recordings became Alan Braufman’s debut album Valley of Search. Valley of Search has enjoyed a cult status and captures a unique and very alive historical slice of New York’s creative improvised underground.

Alan Braufman – Saxophone
Cooper-Moore – Piano, dulcimer, recitation
Cecil McBee – Bass
David Lee – Drums
Ralph Williams – Percussion

Track listing:
A1. Rainbow Warriors
A2. Chant
A3. Thankfulness
A4. Love is for Real
A5. Foreshadow
B1. Miracles
B2. Ark of Salvation
B3. Little Nabil’s March
B4. Destiny

Preorder is available now at Amazon, Bull Moose, or Braufman’s Bandcamp page.

Alan Miller
Alan is a songwriter and record store clerk living just north of Nashville, TN.