John Coltrane Quartet unreleased tracks get released

News / Preorders / June 11, 2018

Both Directions At Once: The Lost Album, featuring some unheard songs from the John Coltrane Quartet, is now available in a deluxe 2xLP vinyl set. This, according to the description, was recorded in 1963 at “the end of a two-week run at Birdland.”

The standard version (available in CD and LP formats) incorporates 7 tracks, 2 of which are two completely unheard, brand new original compositions as well as Coltrane classics like Impressions and Vilia. The deluxe version (also available in CD and LP formats) incorporates 7 alternate takes of some of the tracks from the standard – a must have for any Coltrane fan.

The standard is available here.

It’s being released on June 29.

Side A:

1. Untitled Original 11383
2. Nature Boy
3. Untitled Original 11386 [Take 1] 4. Vilia

Side B:
1. Impressions [Take 3] 2. Slow Blues
3. One Up, One Down [Take 1]

Side C:
1. Vilia
2. Impressions
3. Impressions
4. Impressions

Side D:
1. Untitled Original 11386
2. Untitled Original 11386
3. One Up, One Down


Christopher Lantinen
Chris Lantinen is the owner and editor-in-chief of Modern Vinyl. Along with his modest collection of sad sounding records, he collects his share of soundtracks and previously adored indie up-and-comers. Chris is currently a professor of journalism and public relations at Edinboro University in the Erie, Pennsylvania area.

You might also like