Floyd Ramsey deep cuts released in 2xLP set

News / Preorders / June 4, 2017

The artists of Floyd Ramsey, label owner and 1950s pop stalwart, are included on Mid-Century Sounds, now up for pre-order at Fervor Records. You can see the tracklisting below, which features the likes of Waylon Jennings, Patti LaSalle and more.

Side A
1. Ralph Smith with Bob Taylor’s Western Aces – “Never With Your Heart”
2. Glen Morris – “I Got The Blues”
3. Joe Montgomery – “Two Time Loser”
4. The Tads – “She Is My Dream”
5. Dave Moore – “Four In The The Morning”
6. Gary Trexler – “A Better Man Than Me”
7. The Newton Brothers – “Start At The Bottom”
8. Ted Newman – “Plaything”

Side B
1. Patti LaSalle – “How Many Times”
2. The Gigolo’s – “Night Creature”
3. Nick Landers – “You’ll Never Wear A Halo”
4. Ritchie Hart And His Hartbeats – “Do It Twist”
5. Roosevelt Nettles – “Drifting Heart”
6. Judy Lunn – “Old Enough To Have A Broken Heart”
7.  Al Casey Combo – “Cookin'”

Side C
1. Waylon Jennings – “My World”
2. P-Nut Butter – “I’m Glad I Knew You”
3. Phil And The Frantics – “What’s Happening”
4. Donnie Owens – “Boo Hoo”
5. Tommy Strange – “One More Time”
6. Sanford Clark – “Once Upon A Time”
7. Nadine Jansen – “So Goes My Dream”

Side D
1. Christopher Blue – “Happy Just To Be Alive”
2. Lon Rogers & The Soul Blenders – “Too Good To Be True”
3. The Harvey Truitt & Jack Miller Project – “Get Up”
4. Motion – “One Afternoon”
5. Soul Blenders – “Blending Soul”
6. Fat City – “Ain’t No Time For Stoppin'”
7. Michael Liggins & The Supersouls – “Loaded Back”

The pressing is limited to 500 copies of 140-gram white/black vinyl. Mid-Century Sounds will be released on June 16.

Christopher Lantinen
Chris Lantinen is the owner and editor-in-chief of Modern Vinyl. Along with his modest collection of sad sounding records, he collects his share of soundtracks and previously adored indie up-and-comers. Chris is currently a professor of journalism and public relations at Edinboro University in the Erie, Pennsylvania area.